Skip to content

a confession

7 June 2011

Well, dear reader (assuming this blog has any readers, which is quite the unwarranted assumption, to be honest), you’d be forgiven if at this point in your readership you found yourself thinking that so far this blog seems rather . . . well, schizophrenic? Wishy-washy? Flat-out hypocritical? Fair enough: I claim to be broke, but I post pictures of my vitamix*; I have a budget of $10/week, but I use ingredients like nutritional yeast and tapioca starch and liquid stevia in my recipes**; I ramble on about how I’m mainly going to focus on simple eating and not post many recipes, but all I’ve posted so far are, well, recipes (and mainly re-adapted ones at that).***

Today, I did something else that runs counter to the aims of project simplify explicitly articulated: I went grocery shopping before absolutely necessary, and I bought more chia seeds. Before I even finished my current bag.

Guilty, guilty, guilty. But, your honor, let me explain!

Chia seeds are becoming something of a staple in my diet, mainly because I’ve been making my own nut/grain milks rather than using the (way-out-of-pricerange) storebought calcium-fortified varieties, and thus have eliminated my main source of calcium. Chia seeds, though, are little nutrient-dense powerhouses, which helps considerably. Also, today was the last day they were on sale. Bulk chia seeds for $3.99/lb?! Yes, please! I also snagged some zucchini for $.97/lb, and some green and purple cabbage for $1/2 lb(!). Project simplify, here I come!

I began my chia seed appreciation-cultivation by simply adding them to my morning oatmeal. Now, a digression for those of you who don’t know me: oats are probably my single favorite food item in the entire world, and my breakfast bowl of oatmeal is the single object of thought that gets me out of bed in the morning. Thus, you can imagine my, um, dismay, at lacking both a microwave and a pot in my new apartment. (Yes, that’s right, folks: I own a vitamix but no pot. What.) I’ve been experimenting with baked oatmeal, which I’ve learned to love almost as much as a big ol’ bowl of their creamy-gooey cousin, but turning on the oven every morning is decreasingly appealing with the increasing summer heat. The obvious solution to all my problems is VOO, but try as I might I just don’t like it. It’s a sliminess issue, I think.

Enter this morning’s stroke of genius.

overnight oats smoothie

I’d put a batch of overnight oats in the fridge last night, but just couldn’t bring myself to eat them this morning before heading off to the barn (instead, had a leftover gf muffin + incredible “healthy truffle” I’ll be blogging about soon). Upon sunburnt-dusty-tired return, inspiration struck: added the uneaten VOO to the vitamix with about a cup of frozen berries (snagged a few bags at the dollar store, woo!) and within seconds turned it into thick, creamy, not-a-trace-of-sliminess perfection.

overnight oats smoothie

the only thing that could make this better is some of my favorite homemade granola. ahh, done.

Which was really all just a long-winded way of saying: I’ve found a new breakfast love, and I’m so smitten that I don’t even feel that guilty about my hypocrisy.

* It was a birthday present + housewarming gift from my parents. Yes, I could’ve asked for the cash instead and thus the opportunity to live comfortably all summer rather than go to ridiculous lengths just to eat, but . . . well, my only justification, if you can call it that, is that I’m irrational. Plus it turns out the vitamix is the best thing that’s ever happened to me and I don’t regret that decision in the slightest. (Again: just blame it on my irrationality.)

** Most of these ingredients are lingering remnants from wealthier times — or, erm, a pre-grad-school spending spree at Whole Foods with daddy. Sigh. Most won’t be replaced; gotta have my nooch, though!

*** Yeah, ok, I’ve got nothin’.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

