Skip to content

pinchin’ pennies, and . . . pancakes!

13 June 2011

I’ve been on a bit of a pancake kick recently.

pancakes

cinnamon-oat pancakes

“But wait,” I imagine you wondering, “I thought you were out of flour?”

Too true, my friend, too true. (That is, I’ve still got a bit of sorghum and quinoa flour kicking around, but truth be told I’m not particularly fond of either of them alone.)

“So, that’s it? You’ve given up on project simplify already?”

(No, I don’t talk to myself, now that I live alone; I talk to my cat and my blog’s imaginary readers. There’s a difference!)

hewwo. I would like for you to pet me plz.

Anyway, the second penny-pinching thing I’ve done recently is make my own flour: oat flour, to be precise. Which is the easiest thing in the world and merely involved blending oats into a flour-like consistency. (I used the old blender, because apparently grinding flours might scuff the inside of my beautiful flawless vitamix.)

I adapted Angela’s recipe and made up enough dry mix for a few servings of pancakes, which I’ve been dipping into every morning rather consistently. With the oat flour + oat bran, it’s almost like eating oatmeal in pancake-form, which if you ask me is about as perfect as breakfast can get.

Single-serving Oatmeal Pancakes
(adapted from Oh She Glows)

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp oat flour
2 tbsp oat bran (or just use 1/2 cup oat flour)
1/2 t cinnamon
tiny pinch sea salt
1 t baking powder
1/2 c non-dairy milk

Dry ingredients can be mixed together and stored until ready to make pancakes. You can even store several batches of dry mix so that you’re always prepared for a pancake emergency! Fry in a bit of oil or Earth Balance (if your budget allows) or cooking spray, flipping when bubbles start to form in the center. Top with something yummy, if you’re into that kind of thing.

The second time I made these, I added the last of my flax meal (about 1 tbsp) to the dry mix on a whim and 1/2 tsp cider vinegar to the milk to make “buttermilk.” Most recently, I used my cinnamon brown rice milk for horchata pancakes. Honestly, they’re delicious every which way!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

