Skip to content

stuff-in-a-pan + tofu scramble

18 June 2011

Sometimes, when I’m feeling hungry/lazy/not particularly inspired, I throw together one of these easy veggie/rice/bean bakes, which I’ve taken to calling, um, “stuff-in-a-pan.” (I think I originally got the idea to do something like this from Averie’s blog.) Easiest thing ever: mince some garlic (I used one ginormous clove) and seeded jalapenos (I used two); mix with 1 tbsp taco seasoning in a tinfoil-lined pan; add a can of diced tomatoes, a canful of water, 1/2 cup brown/wild rice mix, 1 can white beans (any beans would do; ordinarily I use 1/2 cup lentils instead, but I’m out; if I’d planned in advance, I would’ve cooked some of my dry pinto beans and used those, but clearly this isn’t the sort of meal one plans ahead for, so the last of my canned beans it was), and 1/4 cup nutritional yeast. Bake at 375 for 45 min or so, or until the rice is done (check on it toward the end and add more water if necessary). I mixed in about a cup of frozen peas and a cup of frozen corn at the end, so that they just thawed. Really any kind of veggie/grain/legume/spice combo would work here, depending on what you have: my go-to combo used to be sweet potato + red onion + brown rice + lentils. Impossibly easy, surprisingly delicious considering effort input (and, um, appearance — thus the lack of photo), and makes lots of leftovers. Perfect.

Those leftovers are good on their own, of course, but they’re even better like this:

tofu scramble

ooh, a blurry action shot!

Awesome tofu scramble consisting of 1 block pressed extra-firm tofu (found in my friends’ fridge, just a few days expired, no harm done, right?), salt, pepper, turmeric, nutritional yeast, fresh basil leaves, and about a cup of the leftover stuff-in-a-pan. Probably my best tofu scramble to date.

Perfect after a long exhausting morning at the barn. . . .

tofue scramble

scramblin'

Leave a Reply

