Skip to content

perfect single-serve popcorn

20 June 2011

I feel a little silly posting a recipe for popcorn when any ol’ web search can tell you how it’s done. However, this recipe is perfect for making one serving of popcorn in a one-quart pot — so, you know, if you’re me — which is something I couldn’t find on google.

popcorn

I love this new bowl, and I broke it today. sigh.

I’ve done this twice now (why oh why have I waited so long?), and both times the result was popcorn perfection: not burnt, not too oily, no unpopped kernels at the bottom.

Perfect Stovetop Popcorn for One

1/2 tbsp olive oil*
2 tbsp unpopped popcorn kernels
toppings of choice

Add oil and 2 or 3 of your popcorn kernels to a one-quart pot on medium heat. Swirl around a bit, cover, and wait. When they pop, quickly pour in the rest of the kernels and cover, shaking the pot so that the oil’s evenly distributed. Cook over medium heat, shaking frequently, until the rate of popping slows considerably and you can’t hear any kernels rattling around at the bottom. Top with yumminess of choice and devour, all alone, whilst watching hulu. Or something.

*Ideally you’d use coconut or another high-heat oil, but this is all I had. Mmm, trans fats.

The first time I made this I topped it with salt and nutritional yeast; last night I had it with a drizzle of agave, salt, and cinnamon. Possibilities are endless.

Other recent yumminess:

breakfast bake

yesterday's breakfast oat bake: oats, oat flour, oat bran, applesauce, rice milk, chia seeds, brown sugar

bagged beans

present from daddy, all the way from Spain! I'm gonna try sprouting those mung beans....

stuff-in-a-pan

leftover stuff-in-a-pan, in a pot!

This is going to be an interesting week, project-simplify-wise: cut up a huge watermelon today, plus I’ve got two grapefruits, so I’ll be ok on fruit; but I ate the last of my cabbage today and tomorrow will be the last of my veggie-ful stuff-in-a-pan, which means that for the rest of the week I’ll have to make do with half a bag of frozen corn for veg. Hopefully this will result in creativity rather than malnourishment, but only time will tell!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

