Skip to content

WIAW #2

22 June 2011

It’s Wednesday again?? Yikes, time flies when you’re unemployed and spend all day reading philosophy. Guess it’s time for. . . .

Breakfast was a huge bowl of chia oatmeal:

chia oatmeal

1/2 cup oats, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 2 cups water, stevia, cinnamon, cardamom

I also may or may not have had a pre-run cacao “brownie“:

brownies

Snacked on a big bowl of watermelon, which I forgot to photograph. (Hint: it looked like a big bowl of watermelon.) At some point I decided I wanted to make ice cream for a post-yard-yoga lunch, because it’s ok to eat ice cream for lunch when you live alone. Somehow ended up with a lavender oatmeal ice cream base; if you think that sounds like a kind of soap . . . well, it sorta tasted like that too. Will probably attempt to salvage it and freeze it tomorrow; we’ll see.

Inhaled more watermelon after my 110-degree practice. (That’s right: if I’d gone to the studio there’d have been fans on to keep the temperature down. I live in a crazy place.) All I wanted for lunch was some more of yesterday’s delicious rice ‘n’ peas; 10 minutes later, that’s what I had:

rice-n-peas

and just as wonderful this time 'round

Also, quite a few glasses of vanilla-cinnamon sun tea. Might as well make the ridiculous sun down here work for me, right? And I need a caffeine source now that I can’t afford to patronize coffee shops. . . .

Came home late and famished from a fantastic mental representation reading group meeting; whipped up a quick and tasty salad of odds ‘n’ ends: Israeli couscous, edamame, frozen peas, frozen corn, tamari, rice vinegar, sriracha. Cool and filling and veggie-ful (plus I’ve been wanting to use up that Israeli couscous for ages):

couscous salad

and if you thought my iPhone photos were bad before, this is what happens when I get home after sunset....

Not a particularly exciting WIAW, but I’m not a particularly exciting gal — and besides, that’s kinda the idea behind project simplify anyway, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

